Presidency Team

Elected by the Board of Directors on May 20 2021 for two years, our President Jean-Bernard Lévy, Chairman and CEO of EDF Group, is supported in his role by Vice-President: Leonhard Birnbaum, Chairman of the Board of Management and CEO of E.ON SE. Assisted by our Secretary General Kristian Ruby, the Presidency team determines the strategic direction of our industry association, which you can find in details in the Presidency Manifesto.


Jean-Bernard Lévy

President of Eurelectric, Chairman & Chief Executive Officer of EDF Group

Read bio

Jean-Bernard Lévy was appointed Chairman & CEO of EDF Group on 26 November 2014. Previously he was the Chairman & CEO of Thales, a leading electronics and systems industrial group, and he headed up Vivendi as COO from 2002 to 2005, and as CEO from 2005 to 2012. During his career he held multiple management positions in corporate finance and communications, including the role of Chief of Staff to Gérard Longuet, the French Minister for Industry, Postal Services & Telecommunications and Foreign Trade. He is a graduate of the École Polytechnique (1973) and Télécom ParisTech. He is an officer of Légion d’Honneur and of the Ordre National du Mérite.


Leonhard Birnbaum

Vice-President of Eurelectric, Chairman of the Board and CEO of E.ON SE

Read bio

Leonhard Birnbaum joined RWE AG in 2008 and was appointed to the Board of Management the same year. He served as Chief Strategy Officer and as RWE Group’s Chief Commercial Officer until 2013. Since then, Leonhard Birnbaum has been a member of the Board of Management of E.ON SE. Initially in charge of trading and decentralised solutions, he later served as Chief Commercial and Chief Regional Officer and Chief Operating Officer Networks & Renewables. Since April 2021, he became Chief Executive Officer of E.ON SE and Chairman of the Board of Management.


Structure of Expertise

Eurelectric's Board of Directors determines our general work agenda, main policies and strategies. All full members of Eurelectric have one representative in the Board.

For more details on our structure, take a look at our Statutes (revised November 2021 - available in EN or FR) + standing orders 

Full Members

Eurelectric is composed of 34 national electricity associations and leading national electricity companies in a total of 32 countries.

Oesterreichs Energie
Fédération Belge des Entreprises Electriques et Gazières asbl (FEBEG) / Federatie van de Belgische Elektriciteits-en Gasbedrijven (FEBEG)
Energy Management Institute EMI
Croatian EURELECTRIC Section - Croatian Chamber of Economy
Electricity Authority of Cyprus
Cesky Svaz Zamestnavatelu v Energetice (CSZE)
Green Power Denmark
Union of Electricity Industries of Estonia / Eesti Elektritööstuse Liit
Finnish Energy
Union Française de l'Electricité (UFE)
Bundesverband der Energie- und Wasserwirtschaft e.V. (BDEW)
Hellenic Electricity Association (HELAS)
Eurelectric Magyarországi Tagozat (EMT)
Icelandic Energy & Utilities (SAMORKA)
Electricity Association of Ireland - EAI
Elettricità Futura, imprese elettriche italiane
Latvian Association of Power Engineers & Energy Constructors (LEEA)
Nacionalinė Lietuvos Energetikos Asociacija - NLEA
Organisation des Entreprises d'Energie du Luxembourg c/o ENCEVO S.A.
Enemalta plc.
Netbeheer Nederland
Energi Norge
PKEE - Polski Komitet Energii Elektrycznej
Associação Portuguesa das Empresas do Sector Eléctrico (ELECPOR)
IRE- Romanian Institute for Energy Development Studies
Zväz Zamestnávatel'ov Energetiky Slovenska (ZZES)
Energy Industry Chamber of Slovenia, Eurelectric Section
AELEC - Asociacion de Empresas de Energia Electrica
Energiföretagen – Swedenergy AB
Verband Schweizerischer Elektrizitätsunternehmen (VSE) / Association des Entreprises Electriques Suisses (AES)
Türkiye Elektrik Sanayi Birligi (TESAB)
United Kingdom
Energy Networks Association Ltd (ENA)
United Kingdom
Energy UK

Affiliate Members

Business Members

With a direct interest in the electricity industry, our Business Members come from a variety of sectors and have joined us in our journey towards a zero-carbon economy. Visit our dedicated Business Members page to see who has joined us and how to take part into our work.


Our work is reinforced through building alliances with a variety of policy actors in Brussels and beyond. These partnerships enable our sector to speak with one voice on behalf of a wider consensus base aligned with other sectors and industries. It is essential that these messages reach policymakers and shape the EU policy for years to come.

The Electrification Alliance is a forward-looking coalition formed by 10 leading associations in the electricity sector.

Check the dedicated Electrification Alliance Website to know more about who we are and why we firmly believe electrification is the future of the European Union’s energy system.

The Platform for electromobility unites organisations from across civil society, industries, and transport modes committed to promote electro-mobility and strive to collectively develop solutions to electrify European transport.

Have a look at the dedicated Platform for Electromobility website to learn how electromobility can make transport cleaner and cheaper.

The Alliance for a Competitive European Industry (ACEI) was created in 2004 to harness the collective intelligence of 11 of Europe’s leading industry sector associations as well as BusinessEurope. The ACEI provides a proactive vision to EU policymakers on how to promote the competitiveness of the European industry on a global scale and transform it towards a sustainable and low-carbon future.

Download here the ACEI Manifesto 2019/2020: “Europe’s industry united for an inspiring future”.