Seatower named winner of the 2017 EURELECTRIC Industry Award

News Article

Seatower, a company that designs gravity foundations for offshore wind turbines and substations was today named winner of the 2017 EURELECTRIC Industry and Innovation Award. The unique technology represents a breakthrough in the offshore industry, because of a less risky process - as the installation involves fewer personnel in offshore operations-, faster and much simpler installation procedure and larger weather conditions window.

“It is a great honour for me to accept this award,” said Petter Karal CEO of Seatower. “The EURELECTRIC conference highlighted new technologies that facilitate innovation in the value chain and I am excited to contribute with our project in these developments and facilitate the transition that the energy sector is currently facing,” he said. Mr. Karal went on to explain that the first Seatower Cranefree Gravity foundation for offshore wind has been successfully installed in the British Channel approximately 15 km off the French coast at 30 meters water depth. “I am proud to say that the Seatower’s commercial cost effective design is perfect for larger turbines. Installation can happen also during winter time and in harsh offshore conditions, which is one of several advantages that reduce the total cost of an installed gravity based foundation compared to the commonly used steel structures.”

Runners-up to this award include Arquiled Projectos de Iluminação, SA, that design, develop and manufacture lighting solutions based on LED technology and Fugro Roames’ Virtual World Asset Management (VWAM) system that allows infrastructure managers to remotely investigate the condition and performance of their network.

In addition to the industry award, the EURELECTRIC Student Award went to Maria-Ruxandra Luca, Student at the Faculty of Power Engineering, University Politechnica of Bucharest for the best video creation on the topic of electrification. Ms. Luca’s video entry was on vehicle to grid (V2G) technology.

Runner-up was Laura Elena Bejinariu, student at the University Technica “Gheorge Asachi” of Iasi, Romania.




Note to editors:

The EURELECTRIC Industry Award was inaugurated at the EURELECTRIC Convention in 2008. Awarded annually, it seeks to honour companies or persons that have made a pioneering contribution towards the development of the electricity industry.

Since 2010, EURELECTRIC has also organised a formal student competition as an integral part of its Annual Convention.